Doctor Details

Dr Terry Coyne  MBBS, FRACS

Dr Terry Coyne MBBS, FRACS

ADDRESS Briz Brain and Spine
Evan Thomson Building
Suite 20, Level 10
24 Chasely Street
Auchenflower Qld 4066
FAX 07 3833 2511

Located on St Andrews War Memorial Hospital Campus

A founding member of BrizBrain & Spine, Dr Terry Coyne is a neurosurgeon with specialist skills in brain and spinal surgery. He obtained his medical degree from the University of Queensland in 1983 and finished training as a specialist neurosurgeon in 1991, having worked at the Townsville, Royal Brisbane and Princess Alexandra Hospitals.

Dr Coyne continued his neurosurgical training, spending two years completing a post-graduate Fellowship at the University of Toronto, Canada. He returned to Brisbane in 1994 to commence an appointment as a Visiting Medical Officer (Neurosurgeon) at the Royal Brisbane and Royal Children’s Hospitals. He also commenced in private practice at that time.

After 11 years of combined public hospital and private practice, Dr Coyne is now in full-time private practice with BrizBrain & Spine. His practice covers a broad range of adult neurosurgery, with particular interests in cerebrovascular surgery, skull base surgery, spinal surgery and movement disorder surgery, including deep brain stimulation (performed in conjunction with neurologist Dr Peter Silburn).
He continues to advance his skills in all areas of neurosurgery and spinal surgery.

Dr Coyne is a Board Member of the World Society of Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery and a Board Member on the Asian -Australasian Society of Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery. He is also a member of QASM (the Queensland Audit of Surgical Mortality), the Neurosurgical Society of Australasia (NSA), the MVA (NSW) St Andrews Research, the Medico Legal Society of Queensland, the Spine Society and the Health (Aust) Department of Prothesis and Devices.

Dr Coyne is an Associate Professor Faculty Medicine at the University of Queensland, Griffith University and Bond University.

Dr Coyne is also on the advisory board for the Asia-Pacific Centre for Neuromodulation, University of Queensland (APCN).