News articles  

Staff and spirit shine on St Andrew’s Day


St Andrew’s staff were honoured this month for their service and commitment to caring for our community as part of the hospital’s traditional St Andrew’s Day celebrations.

Length of Service AwardsHeld on St Andrew’s Feast Day, St Andrew’s Day is an important opportunity to recognise long-serving team members and to celebrate outstanding staff with the prestigious Spirit of St Andrew’s Award.

It is also a special day for our entire hospital community to come together to remember our rich history and rejoice in our uniquely Scottish roots.

This year, the hospital recognised staff for their tireless service over 45, 35, 30, 25, 20, 15, 10 and five years.

Fourteen staff and two teams received the Spirit of St Andrew’s Award which celebrates those who have gone above and beyond for our patients and their families.

General Manager, Mairi McNeill, said St Andrew’s Day is an important occasion to celebrate everyone and everything that makes St Andrew’s a special place to work.

Spirit of St Andrew's Award recipients“St Andrew’s Day is all about recognising and thanking those who bring the St Andrew’s spirit to life in their work and in the care they provide for our patients and each other, each and every day,” Mairi said.

“This year, we’re celebrating 146 of our colleagues who are achieving length of service milestones, some whose service to our community spans more than four and half decades!

“Our Spirit of St Andrew’s Awards are given to those who demonstrate excellence that reflects our Mission and Values, and highlights the inspirational contributions of our people and the impact they have on the experiences of our patients,” she said.

We extend a special congratulations to all of staff celebrating length of service milestones this year, and to our 2023 Spirit of St Andrew’s Award winners:

  • Jane Linnett 
  • Yuri Jung 
  • Dr Michael Gillman  
  • Eleanor Wearne 
  • Robyn Olander (Volunteer)  
  • Ann Bonny  
  • Jenny Smith (Volunteer) 
  • Sarah Burton  
  • Nick Harper  
  • Mitzi Legara 
  • Virginia Gehrke 
  • Janine Ross 
  • Cardiac Radiography Team/Robert Beevors 
  • 4E Team  
  • Security Team: Fire Safety Officers, Mark Todd & Donald Mackay.